The first time I heard of the Royal Trout Slam, I didn’t know anything about it, so I did some research on the International Game Fish Association (IGFA) website. In recognition of the importance of trout fishing, IGFA has offered a special award to those anglers that have caught seven different species of trout in their lifetimes. In order to accomplish this quest an angler must travel to many different places to have the opportunity to catch all the trout on the list. Now I’m intrigued and it’s time to go fishing!

The Trout Royal Slam consists of catching these seven species:

  • Rainbow Trout
  • Brown Trout
  • Lake Trout or Mackinaw
  • Cutthroat Trout
  • Bull Trout
  • Brook Trout
  • Golden Trout

How to Apply: 

  • Download the application.
  • Fill out the application form carefully and have it notarized by an authorized agency or individual.
  • Submit completed application with photos of all catches to:

c/o World Records Coordinator
300 Gulf Stream Way, Third Floor
Dania, FL 33004

Completing the Trout Royal Slam is no easy quest. Here’s the list of people who have submitted their slams.